Harper Rae Sloan

On March, 19, 2011 I celebrated my 21st birthday. Four days before that I celebrated my daughters 6 month birthday.

 I don’t think many people see me as a dad. Coming from the guy who blogs about boozing on his birthday I suppose I don’t fit the fatherly mold. But as surprised as you may be, I am the father of the world’s only perfect 6 month old. Sorry if this blog runs into a bragging session.

 In my short time as a father I have learned a few basic, but important things. Put diapers on tight, loose diapers tend leak. The doctor recommended ratio for formula is 1 scoop for every one ounce of water. Never, ever wake a sleeping baby. Small house dogs will attack dirty diapers. Double travel and packing times. Never get caught without a binky. Extra clothing always comes in handy.

 All of the above-mentioned things might make life a bit more convenient, but I have also learned some more intangible lessons.

 Friday and Saturday nights at home have become more important than tipping back cold ones with friends. I’m not the most important person in the world anymore. Being a good role model actually means something now. And I’m not as tough as I hought I was, little girls will do that to you.

 Being a dad has opened my eyes so many things. Things most people won’t understand unless they have had the privilege of being a dad. In an instant your perception is completely alerted, your priorities are totally realigned. I read in a baby book that when you have your first child, you head into the hospital with two people and leave with three completely new people. It couldn’t be truer.

