This post comes as the direct response to a blog made by my classmate, Alison Sievers. In my JMC 406 class, a number of student have voiced the opion on this controversial issue.

I don’t claim to be an expert on gay culture or marriage, but I have done some brief research prior to posting this comment. So here goes.

By definition, according to many online reference books such as Webster Merriam and dictionary.com, marriage is “the state of being united to a person of the opposite sex as husband or wife in a consensual and contractual relationship recognized by law.”
So, the phrase “gay marriage,” is completely void. Again, this is a completely secular generated opinion.

I would be in favor of gay couples and/or permanently unified couples receiving the same benefits as any other married couple. I believe that a new unification clause, which legal defines two people as a couple, should be adopted. I believe that all legal, state, and social institutions should recognize these people as a unified couple, but not a married couple.

I don’t agree with the claim that individuals who oppose the “gay marriage,” issue are scared. I think that a majority of those opposes have some sort of moral, or religious compass guiding their views, which is completely fine. Although this is a completely different issue, this country was founded on religious views and the idea that we will ever have a “real” separation between church and state is completely out of the question.

