While working on my JMC 406 project, and searching numerous editorials, I came across this piece written by The Oregonian editorial Board.

I have to say I really enjoyed this editorial. I think it satisfy another function of a publications editorial board; to make stories which the board is passionate about herd. I think that’s exactly what the individuals on The Oregonian editorial board did here.

 I find that all too often the editorials I find seem to be just useless and repetitious banter on issues I have no real interest in. It gives me hope that you can still look in the newspaper and see something which has a real difference on humanity, opposed to a slew of political pieces which a majority of people can’t relate to, or dont care to relate to.

I first learned about Robert Sergeant Shriver my junior year of high school. My teacher mentioned Shriver as the only politician he ever knew who so solely thought about the well-fare of people. Shriver was the driving force behind the Peace Corps, Job Corps, and War on Poverty, Special Olympics, Head Start, VISTA and Upward Bound.

After having his hand in a number of different things, including being a vice president candidate in a loosing effort in the 1972 election, Shriver retired to his home in Massachusetts. In 2003 Shriver was diagnosed with Alzheimer, a disease he would battle for many years. On August, 11, 2000, Shriver’s wife of 56 years, Eunice Kennedy Shriver, died.

Shriver died on January 18, 2011 in Bethesda, Maryland. He was 95. Shriver’s family released a statement calling him, “a man of giant love, energy, enthusiasm, and commitment” who “lived to make the world a more joyful, faithful, and compassionate place.”

